Tahlequah Daily Press

December 13, 2012

Two four-man races show for city election

Staff Writer

TAHLEQUAH — Three of the city’s elected incumbents will hang onto their seats for another term, while four-man races developed for the chief of police post and the Ward 2 council position.

Tahlequah Chief of Police Clay Mahaney will square off next February against challengers Nate King, Charley Batt and Stephen Farmer.

For the Tahlequah Ward 2 election, incumbent councilor Jack Spears declined to file for re-election, and four men threw their hats into the ring to replace him: David Whitekiller, Gary Cacy, Charles Carroll and Jonathan Wells.

Tahlequah Street Commissioner Mike Corn will seek re-election against Terry Garrett.

Ward 1 Councilor Diane Weston, City Clerk Deb Corn, and City Treasurer Lanny Williams all won their races by default after drawing no opponents.

Candidate filings closed at 5 p.m. Wednesday, and can be contested at the Cherokee County Election Board until 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 14.

Voters will cast their ballots for chief of police, Ward 2 councilor, and street commissioner Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2013, with an April 2 runoff, if necessary.