Tahlequah Daily Press

April 14, 2014

Five more candidates file for state offices

Brown, Dobbins win without opponents

Staff Writer

TAHLEQUAH — Five additional candidates filed declarations Friday to run for state-level offices Wednesday, while no new candidates filed for county races.

Friday was the last day candidates could file for office.

Anna Mize, a Republican from Broken Arrow. filed for the District 27 District Attorney’s Office. She will face incumbent Brian Kuester, of Coweta, in the Republican primary.

Josiah Stone, of Stilwell, entered the race for District Judge 15, Office 3. Jeff Payton of Stilwell filed for the office Wednesday.

Filing on Friday for District 2 of the U.S. Congress were Earl E. Everett, a Fort Gibson Democrat, and Jon Douthitt, an independent from Claremore. Incumbent Republican Markwayne Mullin, of Westville, and Darrel Robertson, a Republican from Jay, filed on Wednesday.

Charles R. Arnall, a Tahlequah Democrat, filed Friday for the office of State Senate District 18, held by Kim David, a Republican from Porter.

In other races, three Democrats seek the Cherokee County District 3 seat: acting District 3 Commissioner Dean Martin, and challengers Cliff Hall, and Kevin Walls.

District 1 Commissioner Doug Hubbard seeks re-election, and drew opponent Ted French. Hubbard and French both filed as Democrats.

Cherokee County Assessor Marsha Trammel, a Democrat, seeks re-election to her post, and drew no opponents.

Patsy Stafford, a Democrat, filed for the county treasurer’s position, also without an opponent.

Mike Norman, of Muskogee, filed to be district judge in District 15’s Office 1, and Darrell Shepherd, of Wagoner, filed for the district judgeship for Office 2. Neither face an opponent. Two men – James Walters, of Fort Gibson, and Thomas H. Alford, of Muskogee – are seeking the district’s Office 4.

Associate District Judge Mark Dobbins, of Tahlequah, filed to keep his Cherokee County associate district judge’s post. He drew no opponent.

State Rep. Mike Brown, D-Fort Gibson, also has no challenger and will keep his District 4 seat without a race.

Muskogee Republican George Faught will face off against Muskogee Democrat Jack A. Reavis to represent District 14.

District 86 Rep. Will Fourkiller, D-Stilwell, seeks re-election against Republican Tonya Teaney, of Rose.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. on April 15 to withdraw. Contests of candidacy must also be filed by that deadline.

May 30 is the last day to register to vote in the June 24 primary election.

A runoff election, if necessary, will be Aug. 26; and the general election is set for Nov. 4.