Tahlequah Daily Press

December 6, 2012

School board races set in three districts


Tahlequah — Several school districts across the county will see board races next year.

Tahlequah Public Schools Seat 3 incumbent Luke Foster did not file for re-election, so Sharon Ballew is expected to assume that role next year after running unopposed for the seat.

Keys Seat 3 incumbent J.C. Ballew will face Barbara Smith, Mike Harper, Brad Davenport and Beth Bailey.

In Woodall, incumbent Tony Delmedico faces challenger Gary Hawkins for Seat 3.

Matt Meredith ran unopposed for Seat 3 of the Hulbert board, currently held filled by JuaNita Keener. Curtis Medlin, who was recently appointed to fill the vacant Seat 1 spot in Hulbert, was the only candidate to seek election to that post.

Peggs Seat 3 incumbent Timmy Applegate will face challenger Shellie Shankle during the school board elections next year.

Norwood Seat 1 incumbent Rickey Moore ran unopposed; incumbent Billy Gibson, who holds Seat 3 of the Briggs School Board, drew no opponents; and incumbent Darryl Mathews drew no opposition for Seat 1 of the Tenkiller board.

Eddie Hughes ran unopposed for Seat 3 of the Shady Grove board; and Billy Simpson drew no opposition for Seat 2 of the Lowrey School Board.

The filing period for school boards closed at 5 p.m. Wednesday. The regular school board election will be Feb. 12, 2013. If a candidate does not receive more than 50 percent of the total votes cast in the election, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will meet for a runoff election on April 2, 2013.