Tahlequah Daily Press

November 29, 2012

Wilson, Bailey named to NeoHealth board

Staff Writer

TAHLEQUAH — The NeoHealth Board of Directors added two new members during its regular meeting Tuesday evening.

New to the panel are State Sen. Jim Wilson and local attorney Wayne Bailey.

Wilson attended two previous special meetings held by the board, but the vote to add new members was tabled at the Nov. 19 special meeting to allow board members to review documents related to serving the board and other necessary paperwork for Wilson and other applicants.

Bailey was not in attendance at the Nov. 19 meeting, nor was he on hand for Tuesday’s meeting, held at the NeoHealth Executive Office in Hulbert.

“The other member I contacted and visited with and recommend for the board is Wayne Bailey. Wayne said he had a previous engagement tonight, but he would like to be considered as a member for the board,” said Vice Chair Rick Ward during the nominating committee report.

Wilson, who was present for Tuesday’s regular meeting, and Bailey, filled vacancies created by the recent resignations of former board Chairwoman Peggy Cotten and member Dr. Sara Brown.

Bobbie Davis was serving as vice chair and took over Cotten’s role as board officer until the board’s December election. Ward was serving a member, but was nominated by board Treasurer Dr. Breanna Batey at the Nov. 19 special meeting to serve as vice chair.

The board is also considering candidates for CEO: Angel Westbrook, David McClain, Scott Rosenthal and Melissa Gower. Westbrook is currently serving as interim CEO of NeoHealth. McClain is the former chief operating officer for Tahlequah City Hospital, while Rosenthal is currently vice president of TCH Physician Services. Gower is the former group leader for Cherokee Nation Health Services.

In other actions, the board approved to reduce the sliding-fee scale for the primary care minimum co-pay from $30 back to $20, while the motion to update the poverty guidelines from 2011 to 2012 was also approved.

Each action will go into effect Jan. 1, 2013. Also approved was a bad debt write-off of $31,527.74, which is an amount produced by self-pay patients from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2010.