Tahlequah Daily Press

June 25, 2013

CN’s Byrd re-elected; runoff slated for District 4

Staff Writer

TAHLEQUAH — Unofficial results from the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council election were released Sunday, showing District 2 incumbent Joe Byrd as the victor over challenger Tamsye Dreadfulwater. Byrd garnered 416 of the 612 votes cast – 67.97 percent – in Cherokee County.

District 4, which includes portions of Muskogee and McIntosh counties, is headed for a runoff election. Incumbent Don Garvin earned 304 of the 694 ballots cast, or 43.8 percent. Challenger Mike Dobbins garnered 240 votes, or 34.58 percent, followed by Justin Carlton, who earned 150 votes, or 21.61 percent. The runoff between Garvin and Carlton will be held Saturday, July 27.

In District 5, incumbent David Thornton Sr. defeated Dink Scott and Sherri Doolin. Of the 548 ballots cast, Thornton received 311, or 56.75 percent, followed by Scott at 193 and Doolin at 44.

District 7 incumbent Frankie Hargis defeated Joe Adair, 547 votes to 446.

District 9 incumbent Curtis Snell defeated Lonus Mitchell. Snell earned 407 of the 708 votes cast, or 57.49 percent, compared to Mitchell’s 301 votes, or 42.51 percent.

In District 10, Harley Buzzard defeated Nettie Detherage. Buzzard, a former tribal councilor from Delaware County, earned 290 of the 434 votes cast, giving him 66.82 percent of the electorate. Detherage earned 144 votes.

In District 11, incumbent Chuck Hoskin drew no opponent.


To see the complete version of this article, subscribe to the Daily Press e-edition by following the link below.

Click here to get the entire Tahlequah Daily Press delivered every day to your home or office.

Click here to get a free trial or to subscribe to the Tahlequah Daily Press electronic edition. It's the ENTIRE newspaper (without the paper) for your computer, iPad or e-reader.