Tahlequah Daily Press

March 28, 2013

Tribe holds drawing for tribal council ballot slots


TAHLEQUAH — Officials with the Cherokee Nation Election Commission held a high noon drawing Wednesday to determine ballot placement for tribal council candidates in the Saturday, June 22 election.

In District 2, Tamsye Dreadfulwater drew first position over incumbent Joe Byrd.

In District 4, incumbent Don Garvin drew the top slot, followed by Mike Dobbins and Justin Carlton.

Newcomer Joe Adair pulled the first position in District 7 over incumbent Frankie Hargis.

Another newcomer, Lonus Mitchell, won the top position over incumbent Curtis Snell for District 9.

District 10 presents another three-way race. Former tribal councilor Melvina Shotpouch’s name will appear first, followed by those of former tribal councilor Harley Buzzard and newcomer Janees Taylor.

Six citizens have tossed their hats in the ring for the at-large post.

Candidates as they will appear on the ballot include Robin Mayes, Ken Luttrell, Carole Richmond, Curtis West, incumbent Jack Baker and Curtis Bruehl.

Cherokee Nation citizens have until April 1 to register to vote and update their addresses. Voting precincts for the respective districts will be determined at a later date and posted on www.cherokee.org.

The election commission asks that citizens who have moved since they last voted or those who use a post office box or rural route address call the election commission office to verify the appropriate district.