Tahlequah Daily Press

March 7, 2013

Twenty-seven file for Cherokee Nation election

There's still time to register to vote.


TAHLEQUAH — Six Cherokee Nation citizens declared their candidacy in the upcoming general election on the final day of filing for the Saturday, June 22 election.

On Thursday, Curtis Muskrat Bruehl filed for the at-large post, joining incumbent Jack D. Baker, as well as Robin Mayes, Ken Luttrell, Carole Richmond and Curtis West.

District 2 will be a three-way race, and includes incumbent Joe Byrd, with challengers Tonya Teaney and Tansye Dreadfulwater.

Three candidates filed for the District 4 post, including incumbent Don Garvin, Justin E. Carlton and Mike Dobbins.

In District 5, incumbent David Thornton Sr. drew two opponents, Dink Scott and Sherry L. Doolin. District 7 incumbent Frankie Hargis also drew two opponents, Joe Adair and Wade Hampton. In District 9, incumbent Curtis Snell drew a challenge from Lonus Mitchell.

Former tribal councilors Harley Buzzard and Melvina Shotpouch filed for the District 10 seat, joining newcomer Nettie Detherage. Incumbent Chuck Hoskin Jr. wins the District 11 race, as he drew no opponents.

District 15 features a three-way race among incumbent Meredith Frailey, Janees Taylor and Marilyn Marion Carlene Cooper.

Now that Cherokee Nation Tribal Council members have drawn new districts for the election, an online map is available for citizens to key in their address to find their district. Citizens can type in their addresses at http://geodata.cherokee.org/ElectionAddresses/ and it will show their new representative districts. They can also call the election commission office at (800) 353-2895 to validate their districts.

Cherokee Nation citizens have until April 1 to register to vote and update their address. Voting precincts for the respective districts will be determined at a later date and posted on www.cherokee.org.

The election commission asks that citizens who have moved since they last voted or those who use a post office box or rural route address call the election commission office to verify the appropriate district.

Voter registration and absentee ballot request forms are also now available on the election commission website. Requests for absentee ballots must be submitted by May 10.