Tahlequah Daily Press

November 20, 2013

8 NSU players end up on All-MIAA honor roll

— The Northeastern State football team had eight players named All-MIAA in a vote conducted by the league coaches, the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association announced Tuesday.

Leading the charge for NSU was senior linebacker Langston Jones, who was named to the All-MIAA Second Team for the second-straight year despite leading the conference in tackles by a wide margin. He finished the season with 141 stops, placing him 22 tackles ahead of the next defensive player and moving him into fourth place nationally. He also led the MIAA in solo tackles with 64.

Jones also displayed his versatility this season by registering 9.0 tackles for loss, eight passes defended, three forced fumbles, two quarterback hurries, and two interceptions.

Sophomore defensive back Kyler Harris was named to the All-MIAA Third Team. He finished the campaign with 107 tackles, and the next closest defensive back had only 77 stops. Harris also finished second in the league in solo tackles with 62, just two shy of his teammate. Harris broke up eight passes and also finished with four interceptions and one TFL.

Six other RiverHawks were named All-MIAA Honorable Mention, and those were senior fullback Nick Whitlow, junior running back Terrance Dixon, junior offensive lineman Ethan James, sophomore offensive lineman Ross Dvorak, redshirt freshman offensive lineman Hudson Baab, and true freshman defensive lineman Dakota Moran.


MIAA Offensive Player of the Year – Trevor Adams, QB, Northwest Missouri

MIAA Defensive Player of the Year – Matt Longacre, DL, Northwest Missouri

MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year – John Brown, KR/PR, Pittsburg State

MIAA Co-Freshmen of the Year – Antonio Brown, RB, Emporia State & Josh Powell, DL, Central Missouri

MIAA Coach of the Year – Adam Dorrell, Northwest Missouri


All-MIAA First Team (Offense)

QB – Trevor Adams, Northwest Missouri

RB – Joshua Birmingham, Central Oklahoma

RB – Jeff Seybold, Pittsburg State

WR – Marquez Clark, Central Oklahoma

WR – Ray Ray Davis, Emporia State

WR – John Brown, Pittsburg State

TE/FB – Tore’ Hurst, Washburn

OL – Cole Manhart, Nebraska-Kearney^

OL – Jarrett Stastny, Emporia State

OL – Cody Carlson, Northwest Missouri

OL – Cody Holland, Pittsburg State

OL – Kyle Duncan, Washburn

K – Justin Linn, Washburn

KR/PR – John Brown, Pittsburg State

^=Unanimous Selection


All-MIAA First Team (Defense)

DL – Matt Longacre, Northwest Missouri

DL – Brandon Yost, Northwest Missouri

DL – Joe Uzzel, Pittsburg State

DL – Cameron Jackson, Washburn

LB – Jordan Sanders, Emporia State

LB – Eric Reimer, Northwest Missouri

LB – DJ Gnader, Northwest Missouri

LB – Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State

LB – Bryce Atagi, Washburn

DB – Chris Poston, Emporia State

DB – Pierre Desir, Lindenwood

DB – Mike Jordan, Missouri Western

DB – Brandon Dixon, Northwest Missouri

P – Scott Groner, Missouri Western

Five Linebackers due to tie in the voting


All-MIAA Second Team (Offense)

QB – Brent Wilson, Emporia State

RB – Morris Henderson, Lincoln

RB – Raphael Spencer, Missouri Western

WR – Ronrei Lloyd, Central Missouri

WR – Austin Willis, Emporia State

WR – Alex Robinson, Lindenwood

TE/FB – Reggie Jordan, Missouri Western

OL – Brian Berzanski, Central Missouri

OL – Cameron Pound, Central Oklahoma

OL – Mario Abundes, Fort Hays State

OL – Jeremy Jacobson, Missouri Western

OL – CJ Keeney, Northwest Missouri

K – Zach Gebhardt, Central Missouri

KR/PR – Marquez Clark, Central Oklahoma


All-MIAA Second Team (Defense)

DL – Ramond Hunter, Central Missouri

DL – Kenny Allen, Central Oklahoma

DL – Austin Baska, Missouri Western

DL – Taye Irvin, Pittsburg State

LB – Ricky Spratley, Central Missouri

LB – Gatlin Ridgeway, Missouri Southern

LB – Langston Jones, Northeastern State

LB – Shaquille Shedd, Southwest Baptist

DB – Gary Fortune, Emporia State

DB – Michael Jordan, Fort Hays State

DB – Brian Dixon, Northwest Missouri

DB – Keeston Terry, Pittsburg State

DB – DJ Wakes, Washburn

P – Kyle Goodburn, Northwest Missouri

Five Defensive Backs due to tie in the voting


All-MIAA Third Team (Offense)

QB – Hayden Hawk, Central Missouri

RB – LaVance Taylor, Central Missouri

RB – Andre Smith, Fort Hays State

WR – Keaton Callins, Fort Hays State

WR – Derwyn Lauderdale, Southwest Baptist

WR – DeJuan Beard, Washburn

TE/FB – Chris Barnwell, Missouri Southern

TE/FB – Marcus Wright, Northwest Missouri

OL – Aaron Blount, Emporia State

OL – Jerry Lee Johnson, Lincoln

OL – Jose Zuniga, Lindenwood

OL – Cole Chevalier, Northwest Missouri

OL – Tyler Smith, Pittsburg State

K – Connor Frazell, Pittsburg State

KR/PR – LaVance Taylor, Central Missouri


All-MIAA Third Team (Defense)

DL – Neil Shortell, Emporia State

DL – Jesse Trent, Fort Hays State

DL – Thomas Stubbs, Lindenwood

DL – Arbanas Elliot, Missouri Western

LB – Justin McPhail, Fort Hays State

LB – Kendrick Causey, Lincoln

LB – Kellen Werner, Nebraska-Kearney

LB – Tyler Disney, Pittsburg State

DB – Gaige Washington, Missouri Southern

DB – Kyler Harris, Northeastern State

DB – De’Vante Bausby, Pittsburg State

DB – Evan Ray, Southwest Baptist

P – Ed Burns, Lindenwood


All-MIAA Honorable Mention

QB – Adrian Nelson, Central Oklahoma; Jacob Morris, Lincoln; Jay McDowell, Missouri Southern; Travis Partridge, Missouri Western; Anthony Abenoja, Pittsburg State

RB – Antonio Brown, Emporia State; Giresse Forchu, Missouri Southern; Terrance Dixon, Northeastern State; Billy Creason, Northwest Missouri

WR – Christian Hood, Central Oklahoma; Kavaski Ervin, Emporia State; Tanner Hageman, Fort Hays State; Jaron Alexander, Lindenwood; Stephon Weaver, Missouri Western; Derek Libby, Missouri Western; Clint Utter, Northwest Missouri; Matt Kobbeman, Washburn

TE/FB – Cullen Rosine, Central Missouri; Josh Klumpe, Emporia State; Nick Whitlow, Northeastern State; Joel Gantz, Northwest Missouri; Conner Combes, Pittsburg State

OL – Justin Manu, Central Missouri; Brandon Waggoner, Central Oklahoma; Danny Goodman, Emporia State; Greg List, Fort Hays State; Jacob Heneisen; Jarve Dean, Lincoln; Roberto Limon, Lincoln; Cesar Estrada, Lincoln; Justin Campbell, Lincoln; Austin Wolfe, Missouri Southern; Caleb Benner, Missouri Southern; Ross Dvorak, Northeastern State; Ethan James, Northeastern State; Hudson Baab, Northeastern State; Ollie Venegas, Pittsburg State; Derrick Okafor, Southwest Baptist; Sydney Wiggs, Southwest Baptist; Jimmy Schmitzer, Southwest Baptist; Michael Miller, Washburn; Adebayo Oladapo, Washburn

DL – Josh Powell, Central Missouri; Tyler Newton, Central Oklahoma; Justin Wilson, Emporia State; Ryan Louia, Emporia State; Jeremy Jones, Fort Hays State; DeShawn Lawson, Lindenwood; John Oglesby, Missouri Western; Dakota Moran, Northeastern State; Bryant Hunnel, Northwest Missouri; Matt Meinart, Northwest Missouri; Avery Adair, Pittsburg State; Johnathan Drury, Southwest Baptist

LB – Zach Quines, Central Missouri; Adrian Shoecraft, Central Oklahoma; DeShawn Dinwiddie, Emporia State; Tariq Allen, Emporia State; Michael Terry, Fort Hays State; Dillon Hawkins, Lindenwood; Clint Koons, Lindenwood; Tyke Kozeal, Nebraska-Kearney; Dlavin Taylor, Missouri Southern; Stephen Juergens, Missouri Western; Nick Williams, Missouri Western; Willie Williams, Washburn

DB – Julia Dozier, Emporia State; Ivan Hodges, Southwest Baptist; Jason Peete, Pittsburg State; Markuice Savage, Lincoln; Wesley Thomas, Lindenwood; Johnquavious McBride, Missouri Southern; Bryce Enyard, Northwest Missouri; Aries Herrion, Pittsburg State; Devon Connors, Washburn

K – Seth Hiddink, Central Oklahoma; Eli Kuhns Emporia State

KR/PR – DeAndre James, Fort Hays State; Devion Dinwiddie, Emporia State