Tahlequah Daily Press

May 10, 2013

NSU outfielder named to MIAA 1st team

From Staff reports

— The Northeastern State baseball team had five members of the squad named to the all-conference teams, the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association announced Thursday.

Highlighting the list was junior outfielder Cody Robinson, who was named to the All-MIAA First Team. He became the first player from NSU since Kyle Davidson in 2009 to be named to a first-team all-conference squad.

The first-year transfer belted 16 home runs and drove in 56 runs. He is currently second in the country in homers, seventh in RBI, 14th in slugging percentage (.674) and 18th in total bases (116).

His battery mate, fellow junior outfielder Kyle Singleton, was named to the honorable mention squad.

Singleton, also a first-year transfer, tied Robinson with 16 home runs this season and drove in two more runs, making them by far the deadliest 1-2 punch in the nation with a combined 32 round-trippers and 114 RBI. Singleton is currently tied for second in the NCAA in homers with Robinson and is sixth in runs batted in.

Senior pitcher Trevor Walch landed on the All-MIAA Second Team. He began the season as a starting pitcher but was moved to the bullpen early in the year and dominated in a reserve role.

Walch made 18 relief appearances and posted a 0.95 earned-run average in 40.2 innings pitched. He only allowed a run in three of those efforts and finished the season ninth in the nation with 10 saves. Even as a reliever, he still managed to finish third in the MIAA with 72 strikeouts.

Senior shortstop Kegan Knight and sophomore catcher David Weber were also named All-MIAA Honorable Mention. The duo was 1-2 on the team in batting average, with Knight leading the way at .351 and Weber finishing at .347.

Knight was the only player on the team to start all 51 games, and he also led NSU with 65 hits, 17 doubles and two triples. He also hit six homers, posted 41 RBI and scored 40 runs.

Weber played in all but one game, and he finished the year with 60 hits, 41 runs scored, 10 doubles, two triples, two homers, and 26 RBI.

The RiverHawks (28-23) finished the 2013 campaign with their most wins since 2002, and the team made their first trip to a postseason tournament since 2000.



Player of the Year: Michael Schulze, SS, Missouri Western

Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Simmons, P, Missouri Western

Freshman of the Year: Anthony Pacheco, OF, Nebraska-Kearney

Coach of the Year: Buzz Verduzco, Missouri Western


All-MIAA First Team

Starting Pitcher: Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma

Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State

Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western

Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri

Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri

First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood**

Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western

Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western**

Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western**

Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State

Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri

Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western

Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State

Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney

**= Unanimous Selection


All-MIAA Second Team

Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri

Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State

Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern

Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State

Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern

First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri

Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern

Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri

Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State

Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State

Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western

Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri

Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri

Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri


All-MIAA Honorable Mention

Starting Pitcher: Ethan Sharp, Central Oklahoma; Tayler Davis, Fort Hays State; Ryan Bates, Missouri Southern; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Ryker Fox, Northwest Missouri; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State; Taylor Gentry, Washburn

Relief Pitcher: Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Logan Hollingsworth, Missouri Western; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State

Catcher: Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Jake Schrader, Missouri Western; David Weber, Northeastern State; Jacoby Martin, Pittsburg State

First Base: Spencer Shockley, Missouri Western; Ryan Bilovesky, Pittsburg State; Paul Trenhaile, Truman

Second Base: Jon Cotter, Central Missouri; Blake Sturgeon, Emporia State; Chris Santoscoy, Fort Hays State; Landon Young, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Herrington, Washburn

Shortstop: Cesar Wong, Central Oklahoma; Nathan Pridle, Lindenwood; Kegan Knight, Northeastern State

Third Base: Matt Johnson, Central Oklahoma; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State

Outfield: Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Jared Wright, Central Oklahoma; Brad Wilson, Central Missouri; Jordan Slade, Emporia State; Clayton Garland, Fort Hays State; Jordan Miller, Fort Hays State; Colby Shepherd, Lincoln; Wade Rothermich, Lindenwood; Will Wagner, Missouri Southern; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Kyle Singleton, Northeastern State; Tory Stoffregen, Pittsburg State; Ryan Ventura, Pittsburg State; Corban Williams, Truman; Parker Gibson, Washburn

Designated Hitter: Matt Malloy, Central Oklahoma

Utility: Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State; Dallas Burke, Missouri Southern; Nate Ramler, Missouri Western; Blake Marino, Truman