Tahlequah Daily Press

March 6, 2013

Taylor Lewis named MIAA Co-Player of the Year

— Northeastern State’s Taylor Lewis was named the MIAA Women’s Basketball Co-Player of the Year, the league announced on Tuesday.

The senior guard from Broken Arrow joined Washburn’s Laura Kinderknecht as the league’s top two players. Lewis was also a unanimous selection to the All-MIAA First Team.

She was joined on the first team by Kinderknecht, Central Missouri’s Keauna Flax, Pittsburg State’s Lizzy Jeronimus, and Fort Hays State’s Kate Lehman.

Lewis is second in the league in scoring at 16.6 points per game and has reached double figures in all but two games. She also averaged 18.1 ppg during league contests.

She leads the entire MIAA and is seventh in the nation in free-throw percentage (.893), 3-point field goal percentage (.432) and 3-point field goals made per game (3.2).

She is the leader of a NSU team (19-7, 14-4 MIAA) that tied for second place in the MIAA in its inaugural season as members of the conference.

Senior guard Tosha Tyler and senior forward Sarah Green were both named All-MIAA Honorable Mention, and junior forward Carrington Fox was named to the All-Defensive Team.

Tyler is second on the team in scoring at 11.7 points per game. She has scored in double figures in 16 games and is one off her career high with 48 made three-point field goals so far this season.

Green leads the MIAA during league play in field-goal percentage (.593), and she is 12th in rebounding at 6.6 rpg. She also leads NSU in assists (2.3 apg) and is second in both steals (29) and blocks (9).

Fox scores at a 4.6 ppg clip, and she is second on the team in rebounding at 4.4 rpg. Her 45 blocks leads the team and is sixth in the conference.

Southwest Baptist’s Brook Duncan was named the league’s Freshman of the Year, and Fort Hays State’s Kate Lehman was tabbed as the MIAA’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Washburn’ Ron McHenry was named the MIAA’s Coach of the Year.

Northeastern State has earned the No. 3 seed in the 2013 MIAA Women’s Basketball Championship and will begin tournament play in the quarterfinals at 8:15 p.m. March 8 inside Kansas City’s Municipal Auditorium. The RiverHawks will meet No. 6 Fort Hays State, which beat Lincoln on Tuesday night.