Tahlequah Daily Press

February 22, 2013

BLOG: Wrestling state tournament picks

My team and weight-by-weight predictions for this weekend's state tournaments.

Sports Editor

— Here are my team and individual picks for all the wrestling state tournaments:

Class 6A

- Team pick: Edmond North. Could be way off on this one, but this Edmond North team seems like a team of destiny. If the Huskies win, Broken Arrow won't be far behind.

Finals predictions

Class 6A

106: Kennedy Monday (Stillwater) over Jordan Prince (Edmond North).

113: Kaid Brock (Stillwater) over Cy Trindle (Edmond North).

120: Markus Simmons (Broken Arrow) over Boo Lewallen (Yukon).

126: Hayden Hansen (Norman North) over Luke Wolfenberger (Union).

132: Joe Smith (Stillwater) over Keegan Moore (Putnam City).

138: Dawaylon Barnes (Muskogee) over Parker Bohannon (Yukon).

145: Tanner Bailey (Broken Arrow) over Blake Bassham (Norman North).

152: Michael Hamilton (Bartlesville) over Jacobe Smith (Muskogee).

160: JT Andrews (Muskogee) over Mason Thompson (Bixby).

170: Nathan Marek (Southmoore) over Derek White (Edmond North).

182: Lance Dixon (Edmond North) over Derek Silvertsen (Moore).

195: Joel Dixon (Edmond North) over Peyton Ayers (Sand Spring).

220: Andrew Dixon (Edmond North) over Jakoda Bridges (Ponca City).

Hwt: Carlos Freeman (Midwest City) over Carlos Taylor (Broken Arrow).

Class 5A

- Team pick: Collinsville. No one has come close to catching the Cardinals this season, and the state tournament won't be any different. Wouldn't be a stretch to say that Collinsville would win in any class in this state — and other states.

106: Christian Moody (Collinsville) over Briar Adams (Lawton MacArthur).

113: Devion Jeffries (Collinsville) over Markwae Sanders (Duncan).

120: Donald Cannon (McAlester) over Cesar Romero (Southeast).

126: Mark Carter (East Central) over Timothy O'Connor (Guthrie).

132: Adrian Gaines (MacArthur) over Will Steltzen (Collinsville).

138: Gary Wayne Harding (Collinsville) over Brok Williams (MacArthur).

145: Dylan Helm (Collinsville) over Hestin Lamons (Tahlequah).

152: Cameron Loving (Altus) over Blane Culp (Piedmont).

160: Keilan Torres (Altus) over Brycen Short (Claremore).

170: Cole Pacheco (Deer Creek) over Zach Abkemeier (Collinsville).

182: Brice Inbody (Bishop Kelley) over Harley Stanley (Western Heights).

195: Sean Carson (Altus) over Keenan Priddy (Collinsville).

220: Connor Howard (Guthrie) over Garrett Shaw (MacArthur).

Hwt: Jacoby Brown (Chickasha) over Deshawn Craft (Del City).

Class 4A

- Team pick: Much like Collinsville in 5A, Tuttle is an easy pick in 4A. A championship would be the Tigers' fifth straight and seventh since 2002.

106: Cody Lambert (Cascia Hall) over Travis Greer (Wagoner)

113: Scout Skidgel (Cascia Hall) over Blake Dauphin (Tuttle).

120: Eli Hale (Miami) over Brayden Hayes (Vinita).

126: Wyatt Sheets (Stilwell) over Marcus Thomas (Clinton).

132: Gunner Laffoon (Tuttle) over Chance Blount (Sallisaw).

138: Tyler Tustin (Poteau) over Justin McGuinnes (Glenpool).

145: Dakota Head (Tuttle) over Brad Boswell (Wagoner).

152: Kyle Driscoll (Cascia Hall) over Seth Shelton (Tuttle).

160: Braden Stringer (Blanchard) over Gage Stallworth (Cushing).

170: Zach Beard (Tuttle) over Luke May (Mannford).

182: Cale Wilson (Sallisaw) over Tristan East (Anadarko).

195: Jaden Davenport (Sallisaw) over Jason He (Miami).

220: Kaleb Phillips (Vinita) over Nick Bailey (Fort Gibson).

Hwt: Andrew Brestel (Fort Gibson) over Nathan Jackson (Tuttle).

Class 3A

- Team pick: I'd imagine losing the title to Blackwell didn't sit too well with Perry. Look for Perry to reclaim it this season.

106: Dalton Revels (Perry) over Owen Simpson (Tonkawa).

113: Trey Jimenez (Berryhill) over Anthony Jacregui (Tonkawa).

120: Eric Juanes (Newkirk) over Collen Patterson (Salina).

126: Cub Yeager (Locust Grove) over Josh Ailey (Tonkawa).

132: Jon Townsend (Comanche) over Gage Martin (Tonkawa).

138: Jonce Blaylock (Berryhill) over Seth Fritts (Keys).

145: Davey Dolan (Berryhill) over Colton Looper (Perry).

152: Reece Simpson (Tonkawa) over Jacob Vap (Newkirk).

160: Landon Decker (Vian) over Sam Schuermann (Blackwell).

170: Marlon Houston Jr. (Pawnee) over David Dowell (Newkirk).

182: Finn Higgins (Heritage Hall) over Rowdy Simon (Vian).

195: Ethan Walker (Heritage Hall) over Caleb Hawes (Barnsdall).

220: Tre Locust (Vian) over Kyle Varley (Perry).

Hwt: Trey Loveall (Locust Grove) over Braden Ruth (Davis).