Tahlequah Daily Press

February 1, 2014

Tahlequah finishes 3rd at Pryor tournament

Locust Grove edges Pryor for Doug Rail Memorial Tournament honors





PRYOR — Locust Grove wrestlers claimed their fourth consecutive Doug Rial Memorial Tournament title behind a tournament-high three individual champions, holding off host Pryor Saturday at the Burdick Center.

Locust Grove held a slim lead (155.5-153) over the Tigers heading into the consolation and championship finals, but an upset at 145 pounds opened the door for the Pirates, who swept the 220-pound and 285-pound weight classes to snare the team title with 183.5 points to Pryor’s 174.

LG 132-pound senior Cub Yeager was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler in the lower weights.

“He just did what we expected him to do,” Locust Grove head coach Johnny Cook said of Yeager, whose fall over Tahlequah’s Zech VanFleet clinched another tourney title for the Wyoming commit. “We expect him to go out and dominate everyone he wrestles. He’s the toughest guy in the tournament.”

Yeager’s teammate Dustin Remer won the coveted Pinmaster award for most pins in the least time and also picked up the 220-pound championship by pinning Bartlesville’s Austin Agaunaga in the first round. Salina’s Cullen Patterson made a hard bid for the Pinmaster plaque, but settled for gold at 120 pounds. Patterson, the Wildcats’ only finalist, earned a technical fall in the second round of the title match against Pawhuska’s Bryson Swan.

Locust Grove’s Trey Loveall added an exclaimation mark to the Pirates’ win with a third-round fall over Tulsa Edison’s Brandon Chambers at heavyweight.

Locust Grove also got a runner-up finish from Trevor Taylor (170 pounds), a bronze finish from Trent Monk (182) and two fifth-place finishes from Alex Hix (145) and Ty Monk (160). Jake Niederbuhl added a sixth-place nod at 126 pounds.

“We had a lot of guys here who hadn’t placed in a tournament all year,” Cook said. “We’ve been to Perry, Reno (Nev.), Geary and Yukon [tournaments]. We wrestle the toughest schedule of anyone, including all the 6A teams.

“Showed good signs today, but we’ve got to get better. We’ve got a lot of work to do. We’ve got to fine-tune and get better.”

Locust Grove wrestled without its 120-pounder, state runner-up Braden Bennett, who will be out 2-4 weeks with a clavicle injury he sustained during the Pirates’ home dual against Wagoner Thursday.

In Bennett’s absence, Pryor put the heat on the Pirates in the lower weights and took a team lead early in the final rounds, thanks to Von Gray’s fall over Jenks’ Jesse Grippando in the 106-pound third-place match and Logan Litke’s championship at 113 pounds. Litke earned a major decision in his bout with Pawhuska’s Levi Youngwolfe.

“We knew a lot would have to go our way to beat Locust Grove,” Pryor head coach Roger White said. “Locust is so tough up top. It hurt when we lost at 145.”

Kelvin Grubbs, the Tigers’ lone returning state placer, dropped a rematch to Tahlequah’s Mitch Sellars for the 145-pound crown. Grubbs was 2-0 against Sellars until the Rial, including a preseason decision.

Cody Foos won gold at 138 pounds for the Tigers’ only other individual championship, but several other Tigers reached the podium — some of whom surprised even White. Freshmen Ryan Sellers and Logan Hammock, for instance, claimed fifth at 113 and 126 pounds, respectively.

“A lot of our guys had great tournaments, and we got some points where we didn’t expect it,” White said. “We’re getting more heart. We’re fighting the full six minutes. We’re trying to score. Trying to hold onto one-point wins. That’s what you need come regional time.”

Dylan Wright (120 pounds) and Michael Lansaw (220) brought home bronzes for Pryor, while Christian Campbell (160) and Josiah Gauger (195) took fourth.

Tahlequah, which tied Locust Grove with a tournament-high four wrestlers in title bouts, claimed third place with 137 points.


Doug Rial Memorial Tournament

Jan. 31-Feb. 1, 2014

Team Results

1) Locust Grove 183.5

2) Pryor 174

3) Tahlequah 137

4) Skiatook 126

5) Sapulpa JV 112

6) Bristow 108

7) Pawhuska 102

8) Bartlesville 96

9) Tulsa Edison 83

10) Jenks 73

11) Bishop Kelley 66.5

12) Broken Arrow JV 64

13) Salina 49.5

14) Inola 48

15) Nathan Hale 33

16) Miami 24


Individual Results

Championship Rounds

106: Matt Schnorrenberg (Skiatook) dec. Daniel Nightengale (Pawhuska), 7-1

113: Logan Litke (Pryor) maj. dec. Levi Youngwolfe (Pawhuska), 9-0

120: Cullen Patterson (Salina) tech. fall Brycen Swan (Pawhuska), 17-2

126: Joe Jones (Bartlesville) dec. Chandler Delk (Skiatook), 9-7

132: Cub Yeager (Locust Grove) fall Zech VanFleet (Tahlequah), 1:19

138: Cody Foos (Pryor) dec. Johnny Cooley (Bristow), 8-6

145: Mitch Sellars (Tahlequah) dec. Kelvin Grubbs (Pryor), 5-4

152: Austin Eades (Jenks) dec. Heston Lamons (Tahlequah), 3-2

160: Reese Davis (Tahlequah) maj. dec. Tyler Logan (Bristow), 14-3

170: Cory Wilson (Inola) fall Trevor Taylor (Locust Grove), 2:56

182: Brice Inbody (Bishop Kelley), forfeit

195: Beau Wooden (Skiatook) fall Dakota Carnes (Sapulpa JV), 1:51

220: Dustin Remer (Locust Grove) fall Austin Agaunaga (Bartlesville), 1:30

285: Trey Loveall (Locust Grove) fall Brandon Chambers (Tulsa Edison), 4:41


Third-Place Rounds

106: Von Gray (Pryor) fall Jesse Grippando (Jenks), 1:33

113: Grant Fox (Jenks) dec. Freddie Burnett (Tulsa Edison), 5-3

120: Dylan Wright (Pryor) dec. Steven Shelly (Sapulpa JV), 4-2

126: Trent Smith (Bristow) maj. dec. Wrighter Weavel (Tahlequah), 14-2

132: Greg Woodward (Tulsa Edison) dec. Eric Snodgrass (Bristow), 10-9

138: Jamal Wright (Tulsa Edison) dec. Brady Jones (Broken Arrow JV), 5-0

145: Bobby Daniels (Sapulpa JV) fall Spencer Largent (Inola), 5:27

152: Rashawn Howard (Tulsa Edison) dec. Jon Munoz (Bristow), 6-4

160: Kyle McLaughlin (Skiatook) fall Christian Campbell (Pryor), 1:29

170: Zaylin Edwards (Pawhuska) dec. Garrett Kitchel (Bartlesville), 4-2

182: Trent Monk (Locust Grove) dec. Justin Walker (Miami), 8-4

195: Matt Smith (Bishop Kelley) dec. Josiah Gauger (Pryor), 4-3

220: Michael Lansaw (Pryor) fall Dustin Hicks (Tahlequah), :57

285: Isaac Cota (Hale) dec. Dakota Jester (Pawhuska)


Fifth-Place Rounds

106: Brandon Blose (Sapulpa JV) fall Sam Moss (Bishop Kelley), :30

113: Ryan Sellers (Pryor) fall Tyler Lewis (Skiatook), 1:16

120: Christian Barrett (Bishop Kelley) maj. dec. Chasen Umholtz (Jenks), 13-1

126: Logan Hammock (Pryor) dec. Jake Niederbuhl (Locust Grove), 10-4

132: JT Greenwood (Bristow), forfeit

138: Ty Barret (Sapulpa JV) dec. Jacob Wallace (Sapulpa JV), 5-2

145: Alex Hix (Locust Grove) fall Hunter Gnose (Skiatook)

152: Billy Beyen (Skiatook) fall Daman Stitsler (Salina), 3:39

160: Ty Monk (Locust Grove) fall Salem Naifeh (Sapulpa JV), 2:55

170: Hunter Sheffield (Broken Arrow JV) dec. Bay Goodpasture (Sapulpa JV), 4-3

182: Dalton Sheffield (Broken Arrow JV) dec. Jordan Flores (Inola), 8-2

195: Zac Wellman (Bartlesville) fall Brad Rowan (Bristow), 1:12

220: Sean Madden (Tulsa Hale) fall Trenton Pritchett (Salina), 3:35

285: Joseph Tucker (Tahlequah) fall Dylan Durham (Sapulpa JV), 1:24