Tahlequah Daily Press

TDP Sports Blog

February 22, 2014

Collinsville leading 5A regional with 13 state qualifiers

In 2013, Collinsville sent 11 wrestlers to the Class 5A state tournament. The Cardinals coasted to their third state championship, beating Lawton MacArthur by 50-plus points.

Well, there's bad news for the rest of the 5A field this year. The Cardinals are sending 13 wrestlers to the state tournament.

Aside from the 195-pound field, where Collinsville doesn't have a wrestler, the Cardinals are sending a wrestler at every other weight class. And with only championship and third-place matches left to wrestle at the Class 5A East Regional at Tahlequah High School, the Cardinals have a commanding lead heading into the regional's final session.

Currently, Collinsville has 250 points. The next closest team is Shawnee with 168.

Shawnee has seven qualified for the state tournament, which is the same amount that Coweta has. Tahlequah, Edison and McAlester all have four apiece.

One of Tahlequah's state qualifiers is senior Mitch Sellers at 145 pounds. However, Sellers had to fight off a near fall early in the first period to prevail. In overtime, Sellers beat Durant's John Woods, 7-5.

Tahlequah's only other qualifier from the consolation bracket was Zech VanFleet at 132.

Here are the matchups tonight in the first- and third-place matches:

106: Nate Keim (Collinsville) vs. Tanner Cole (Deer Creek) for first; Dalton Rippy (McAlester) vs. Dillon Prutch (Coweta) for third.

113: Christian Moody (Collinsville) vs. Fletcher Edwards (Coweta) for first; Hunter Smith (McAlester) vs. Dayton West (Deer Creek) for third.

120: Jacob Findley (Collinsville) vs. Coree Henderson (Coweta) for first; Dylan Wright (Pryor) vs. Bryce O'Connor (Shawnee) for third.

126: Donald Cannon (McAlester) vs. Aaron O'Brien (Edison) for first; Connor Fielder (Coweta) vs. Justin Walker (Collinsville) for third.

132: Dakotah McGarrah (Collinsville) vs. Malique Lytle (Shawnee) for first; Zech VanFleet (Tahlequah) vs. Dolan Calico (Coweta) for third.

138: Gary Wayne Harding (Collinsville) vs. Jamal Wright (Edison) for first; Jared Woods (Durant) vs. Cody Foos (Pryor) for third.

145: Will Steltzlen (Collinsville) vs. Kelvin Grubbs (Pryor) for first; Jason Tiger (Shawnee) vs. Mitch Sellers (Tahlequah) for third.

152: Hestin Lamons (Tahlequah) vs. Wyatt Jordan (Collinsville) for first; Rashawn Howard (Edison) vs. Matt Daniel (Shawnee) for third.

160: Reese Davis (Tahlequah) vs. Ryan Haymaker (Collinsville) for first; Garrett Sisco (Grove) vs. Jacob Schimmels (Deer Creek) for third.

170: Thomas Shepherd (Shawnee) vs. Sam Dawes (Coweta) for first; Josh Arnold (Collinsville) vs. Kyle McLaughlin (Skiatook) for third.

182: Cole Pacheco (Deer Creek) vs. Brice Inbody (Bishop Kelley) for first; Walker Smith (Shawnee) vs. Roc Robbins (Collinsville) for third.

195: Eli Hooks (Deer Creek) vs. Beau Wooden (Skiatook) for first; Gage Humphrey (Shawnee) vs. Matt Smith (Bishop Kelley) for third.

220: Keenan Priddy (Collinsville) vs. Blaise Gorges (Durant) for first; Colby Layman (Grove) vs. Riley Smith (McAlester) for third.

285: Griffin Qualls (Coweta) vs. Brandon Chambers (Edison) for first; Chance Lamho (East Central) vs. Jake Douglass (Collinsville) for third.

Text Only
TDP Sports Blog

Ben Johnson has been the sports editor at the Tahlequah Daily Press since 2009. He's a Broken Arrow native and a graduate of Oklahoma State University. He's also an avid fan of the St. Louis Cardinals and Kansas City Chiefs.

Press Sports Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter