The Native Arts and Cultures Foundation awarded the 2016 NACF National Artist Fellowships to 16 artists in traditional arts, visual arts, artistic innovation, literature, and music.

The awardees were selected from a national open call of American Indian, Native Hawaiian and Alaska Native artists whose work was then reviewed by a panel of art peers and professionals. The awarded artists came from 14 states, including Oklahoma.

Artistic Innovation winners were Erica Tremblay, Seneca-Cayuga Nation of Oklahoma; and Mark Ho'omalu, Native Hawaiian.

Winners in Traditional Arts were Teresa Secord, Penobscot Nation; and Timothy Young, Haida Nation.

Visual Arts winners were Luzene Hill, Eastern Band of Cherokee; Preston Singletary, Tlingit; Cannupa Luger, Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara; and Brenda Mallory, Cherokee Nation.

In Music was Laura Ortman, White Mountain Apache; Aaron Sala, Native Hawaiian; Thea Hopkins, Wampanoag; and Tiokasin Ghosthorse Veaux, Cheyenne River, Lakota.

Painting: Bunky Echo-Hawk, Yakama Nation, and Mateo Romero, Cochiti Pueblo, won in Painting.

The awardees in Literature were Susan Power, Dakota Nation - Standing Rock; and Kelli Ford, Cherokee Nation and Chickasaw.

Recommended for you