Cherokee County Maintenance Crew

Cherokee County Maintenance Crew received an award for its safety record during the Monday, June 3, Oklahoma Transportation Commission meeting. From left are: District One Commissioner Bob Coburn, Division One Engineer Chris Wallace, Gov. Kevin Stitt, Cherokee County Maintenance Crew Superintendent Beau Ballard, ODOT Executive Director Tim Gatz and Commission Chairman Gene McKown.

At the Oklahoma Transportation Commission, June 3 meeting, Governor Stitt and Secretary of Transportation Tim Gatz handed out awards to Oklahoma Department of Transportation crews who demonstrated a continued commitment to safety in 2018.

Cherokee County Maintenance Crew in Tahlequah was the Division One winner of the 2018 Director’s Safety Award.

The Director’s Safety Awards are presented to the unit in each of ODOT’s eight field divisions and its Oklahoma City headquarters with the best safety record. Consideration is given to safety, housekeeping, training and equipment maintenance.

Division One is based in Muskogee and includes Adair, Cherokee, Haskell, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties.

The men and women of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation work in all conditions and put their lives on the line to help construct and maintain the state’s highways, interstates and bridges. Safety is ODOT's top priority and the agency conducts onsite reviews, accident follow-up and ongoing safety education as part of its worker safety program.

Recommended for you