Seven Cherokee County school board candidates didn’t draw opposition for their seats Wednesday, as the annual three-day filing period concluded at the election board.

Incumbents Curtis Brannon at Keys and Mickey Graham at Shady Grove filed Wednesday for re-election without races. They join Bob Parrish at Grand View, Timmy Applegate at Peggs, James Darryl Mathews at Tenkiller, Tony M. Delmedico at Woodall and Billy Gibson at Briggs, also without opposition. Applegate, Mathews and Gibson are incumbents. Del-medico was on the Woodall board after being appointed to fill the late Thelma Mahaney’s unexpired term.

Races are set in the county’s two largest districts, Tahlequah I-35 and Hulbert.

Duel Smith filed Tuesday for the Tahlequah seat vacated by Tony Boyle. Smith drew opposition Wednesday from Lake Region Electric Cooperative CEO Hamid Vahdatipour.

A three-way race is on tap for Hulbert voters, where Linda Baker, a retired Hulbert teacher, and Christopher Sallee have filed to challenge Incumbent Kent Barnes.

The annual school elections are Feb. 9, 2010.


Trending Video